Independent America

Independent America: The Two Lane Search for Mom & Pop is a documentary film about a couple who travels 13,000 miles across America to find “independent America,” that is, no big boxes, no chain hotels, no fast food chains – just the mom & pop version of America.  And on their journey they have two rules: 1) no interstates and 2) no chain anything. Watch the trailer on the website. The film was also featured on the Sundance Channel.

I haven’t seen this movie, but I want to. In the meantime, it’s inspired me to plan my summer road trip in a similar manner (albeit abridged and slightly different since I’m not making a film).  Check out the Independent America blog for details on their trips, movie screenings. To follow the route of the film makers, click the “our route” category on the blog. (Or see this post for just the map version. It looks like fun!)

Has anyone seen this film?

After The Two Lane Search for Mom & Pop, Independent America has moved on to other films, including one about New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina. It is called Independent America: Rising From Ruins.  It, too, looks fabulous.  I’ll have to look for these at the library.