Happy Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving to everyone! Whatever your family traditions may be, I hope you have a great time being in the places that you love with the people you love. It’s a recipe for memories and family stories. My day involves running a 5K with one of my sisters and then watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade with my entire family while we cook and bake. At noon we listen to Alice’s Restaurant by Arlo Guthrie. It’s a good 18 minute talking blues song on the radio, half song, half storytelling, and we have been listening to it for years. It is based on a true story and then became a movie. If you’re in the Long Island area, tune into WBAB 102.3* or WRCN 103.9 to hear it at noon and then at 6 p.m. Read the lyrics here or listen to it here on YouTube. You can buy the mp3 here. It’s definitely worth your time.

And here are some Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade photographs, courtesy of Elyse.

Happy Thanksgiving from the Macy's Turkey

Happy Thanksgiving from the Macy's turkey

Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade!

Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade balloons

 

*An update (12/1/2008): WBAB did not play Alice’s Restaurant this year. Distraught when my family did not hear, even by 1pm, I emailed and called the radio station to request the song. All I received in response was that a “corporate decision” was made and they would not be playing the song this year.  I was not given any further information.

One thought on “Happy Thanksgiving

Have a thought to share?